DMV

Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK AUTHORIZATION FORM
USE FOR APPLICANT PURPOSES
(PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK INK)

LAST NAME FIRST NAME MI SUFFIX

ALIASES: MAIDEN / PREVIOUS LAST NAMES / LEGAL NAME CHANGES

DRIVER LICENSE (DL) # DL ISSUING STATE: DATE OF BIRTH: / /

SOCIAL SECURITY # - -

SEX RACE HEIGHT WEIGHT EYES HAIR

PLACE OF BIRTH (STATE/COUNTRY) CITIZENSHIP (COUNTRY)

CURRENT DELAWARE ADDRESS:

CITY/STATE: ZIP:

TELEPHONE NUMBER: Home/Cell: ( ) Work: ( )

CHECK THE BOX FOR THE ENDORSEMENT YOU ARE APPLYING FOR:

|:| SCHOOL BUS “S” ENDORSEMENT |:| TAXI/LIMOUSINE “Z” ENDORSEMENT

OFFICIAL USE ONLY

Printed Name of DMV Employee Signature of DMV Employee Approval Date

AUTHORIZATION TO RELEASE INFORMATION:

As an applicant | authorize release of any and all information that you have concerning me, including CRIMINAL HISTORY
RECORD INFORMATION and other information of a confidential or privilege nature. | hereby release you, your
organization, the State of Delaware and others from any liability or damage, which may result from furnishing this
information:

NOTIFICATION:
If mandated by state statute, your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. You will be given
the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI criminal history record by the

official to whom you have authorized this information be disseminated.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT: DATE:

USE OF CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD INFORMATION IS RESTRICTED BY LAW AND SHALL BE LIMITED TO THE PURPOSE
FOR WHICH IT WAS GIVEN. MISUSE CONSTITUTES A CRIMINAL VIOLATION.

OFFICIAL USE ONLY

/
AGENCY CODE TIME

REASON FINGERPRINTED



STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION (SBI)

SBI's Main Office - Kent County (Walk-In) No appointment necessary

The office is located at 655 South Bay Road, Suite 1B, Dover, DE 19901, in the Blue Hen Corporate
Center. Enter the road between Kent County Levy Court and Firestone, and then follow the fingerprint
signs.

Hours of operation are:

« Mondays, 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
e Tuesday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

SBI's Northern Office - New Castle County (by appointment only)

The office is located at Delaware State Police Troop 2, on Route 40, in Bear, just west of the Fox Run
Shopping Center, between routes 72 and 896.

Hours of operation are:

e Mon, Wed, Thurs, and Fri, 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
e Tuesday, 11:30 a.m. to 6:15 p.m.
e To schedule an appointment call 302-739-2528

SBI's Southern Office - Sussex County (by appointment only)

The office is in the Thurman Adams State Service Center located at 546 S. Bedford Street, Room
202, Georgetown, DE.

Hours of operation are:

e Monday - Thursday, 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
e To schedule an appointment call 302-739-2528
e CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED at this location

**SBI requires a photo ID and the fee for this process is $65.00**



TAXI AND LIMOUSINE ENDORSEMENT REQUIREMENTS

Delaware law requires both taxicab and limousine operators to carry a taxicab and limousine operator (“Z”) endorsement
on their driver license.

In order to receive the “Z” endorsement, the applicant must meet the following requirements:
1. The applicant must be 18 years of age with one (1) year of driving experience.

2. The applicant’s driver license cannot have been suspended, revoked, or disqualified in this State or any other State for
moving violations during the immediate preceding three (3) years.

3. Never have been convicted of any of the following crimes under the laws of this State or any other jurisdiction:

a. Any crime against a child,;

b. Any crime constituting a class A or B felony;

c. Any crime constituting a felony homicide, including, but not limited to, murder, manslaughter and vehicular
homicide; or

d. Any crime constituting a felony sexual offense;

4. Has not been convicted or pled guilty, within the last seven (7) years, to any of the following offenses, either
under Delaware law or a substantially similar law of another state or of the United States:

a. Driving under the influence under Title 21 84177, 84177J, 84177L, or 84177M of this title

b. Any crime constituting a felony offense, including any crime constituting a felony offense against public
administration involving bribery, improper influence or abuse of office.

c. A hit and run offense under Chapter 42 of Title 21.

d. Driving over 100 mph.

e. Reckless driving under Title 21 84175.

If all of the above qualifications are met, the applicant must complete the following:

1. Initiate application process by either appearing in person at the Division of Motor Vehicles and submitting the
completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization (CHRCA) Form or submitting the form via email to
(DOT_Endorsements@delaware.gov).

2. Upon receiving DMV’s signed approval appear in person at one of the State Bureau of Identification (SBI)
locations listed in the attachment to submit the DMV-approved CHRCA form and apply for a State and Federal
background check:

a. Make certain that you specified that the background check is for the taxicab and limousine, “Z”,
endorsement. This process may take approximately 2 weeks.

b. Once the background checks are received, the applicant will receive a letter from Division of Motor
Vehicles notifying the applicant of the results. This process may take approximately 2 - 4 weeks.

c. If approved, appear in person at the DMV.

3. The applicant must pass the Class D knowledge exam at the Division of Motor Vehicles.

4. Complete a defensive driving course (DDC)
https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/driving courses/index.shtml?dc=defensive driving from an approved
provider within 30 days prior to or after applying for a taxicab and limousine endorsement. If the applicant has
met all the above requirements except a DDC, a 30-day temporary taxicab and limousine license may be issued.
A second temporary license will not be issued. Once the applicant completes a DDC and the course has been
electronically loaded by the defensive driving provider, a “Z” endorsement will be added to the applicant’s
driver license.

5. The applicant must pay a $3.45 fee.


https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/driving_courses/index.shtml?dc=defensive_driving
https://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/defensive_driving.shtml
https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/driving_courses/index.shtml?dc=defensive_driving
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