
NO-BRAINER.
If you’re thinking of letting your teen drink,

maybe you should
THINK AGAIN.

LETTING TEENS DRINK
can really end badly:

• There could be serious, permanent
effects on the teens’ mental and
physical development.

• You may be legally liable if you provide alcohol
to minors and they become seriously ill or crash.

• You are subject to heavy fines.

• Teens are subject to fines and the loss
of their driver’s licenses.

• Someone could get seriously injured
or die in an alcohol-related crash.

For more information on underage drinking laws and
penalties, go to www.ohs.delaware.gov.

So what can you do?
When Delaware high school juniors were surveyed,
42% said they had been to a party where adults
provided the alcohol. So know where your teens are
going, and who they are hanging out with. If they’re
going to a friend’s house, call the parents to find
out if they will be there too. And make sure those
parents know you don’t allow your child to drink.
Teens will drink because they think it’s cool or to
feel like they are part of the crowd. They don’t
always see underage drinking as risky.

It’s your job to convince them otherwise.

Let your children know the majority of teens don’t
drink! And the good news is that more and more
schools, parents, community groups and church
groups are hosting alcohol-free events that include
parent supervision, food, games and prizes.

Get involved in your teens’ lives. Talk with them.
Establish clear rules for them, especially
concerning alcohol use. Set consequences
for the rules and enforce them. Communicate
the dangers of underage alcohol use to your teens.
Help them think of ways to resist alcohol, say no to
peer pressure, and have fun without drinking.

Itʼs up to you. Under your influence, there’s no
telling how far your teens can go.

HELPING TEENS RESIST DRINKING.

ITʼS A NO-BRAINER.



The police take it seriously.
Maybe you should, too.
Everywhere across the country, more and more
parents and teens are facing criminal charges,
fines and suspended licenses for participating
in underage drinking.

You
Adults who sell or deliver alcohol to, or purchase
alcohol for, those under age 21 are subject to up
to a $500 fine and 40 hours of community service.
Parents who host parties where minors drink alcohol
can also be held liable in civil court if any of those
underage persons are killed or injured, or if they
injure another person—liable for medical bills,
property damage, emotional pain and suffering,
and more. Don’t let this happen to you.

You can even be held
liable if the drinking
occurs when you’re
not at home, so make
sure alcohol is not
accessible to your
teens or their friends.

So, if you think that it’s
safer for your teen to
drink at home than to
go somewhere else and
drink, THINK AGAIN.

Know the laws on teen drinking.
In Delaware the Zero Tolerance Law states that
anyone under the age of 21 who operates any
vehicle while consuming or after having consumed
any amount of alcohol will be arrested. The teens
will lose their driver’s license—for at least two
months and possibly until they’re 21. They may
also be fined. If they use a fake ID, they’ll have
to pay hefty fines and jail time is a possibility.

Donʼt let your teens
have alcohol on their brains.
Drinking alcohol can lead to impaired brain
development and organ damage in growing
teens. It slows the body’s functions and impairs
judgment. And it only takes six months to two
years for a teen to become an alcoholic.

Further, when teens drink, they tend to drink
more than adults do. On average, young
people have about five
drinks on a single
occasion. This is
called binge drinking,
and it can lead to
alcohol poisoning,
blackouts and
even death.

Underage drinking can also lead to:
• teens carrying out, or being victims of,

physical or sexual assaults

• bad grades in school

• run-ins with the law

• drug use

• risky sexual activity, increasing the chance
of teen pregnancy and sexually transmitted
diseases (STDs), including HIV, the virus
that causes AIDS

5,000 more reasons
you shouldnʼt let your teen drink.
Every year, approximately 5,000 minors
die as a result of underage drinking. This
includes motor vehicle crashes, homicides,
suicides, and injuries such as falls, burns
and drownings.

It’s a no-brainer.
H E L P T E E N S R E S I S T D R I N K I N G .

www.ohs.delaware.gov


